DIY// How to Upcycle Cans

Hello there! :)

It has been quite a while since I have posted (obviously).

In today’s post, I am presenting you what is probably the easiest DIY to make. Not only does this DIY produce some pretty decor pieces, but it is great for reusing old cans. I have been using them as my pencil/pens/markers holder.  They also make great use as brush holders or even as gifts!  This DIY is completely customizable and can be adapted to any occasion or individual.  It would make for a cute gift idea as well.  You can fill it up with the recipient’s favorite snacks or products. ❤

 

Detailed list of instructions below.

 

DSC01057

Here is what you will need.

Materials:

  • Cans
  • Paper
  • Stamps
  • Ink Pad
  • Pencil
  • Tape/Glue

Optional:

  • Embossing Ink
  • Heat Tool
  • Twine

Process:

#1: Pick out your choice of paper, stamp, and ink.  I chose to use a heart stamp and gold ink.Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 1.30.26 AM

#2: Decide on a design. I chose to create a polka dotted heart pattern and a spot to include an initial ‘e’.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 1.30.43 AM 1

#3: After you have finished stamping, wrap the paper around the can to mark the height of it onto the back of your paper. After you have traced it, use your scissors to cut it out.

#4: After you have your piece cut out, wrap it back around the can and either tape or glue it down onto the can.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 1.30.53 AM

#5: And that is it! You have just upcycled an old can into something new!

Now I made a few versions of this DIY.

DSC00798The second version uses embossing ink and a heat tool.  I know that most people do not have a heat tool, but I thought that I would share it with you because the effect it makes is just too pretty to not share.

Here is how I made it.

Do steps #1 and #2 listed above.

#3: After you have stamped a pattern, pour the embossing powder over the stamped areas.  Make sure that the ink is wet so that the embossing powder has something to stick on.  Learn from my mistakes,  I decided to stamp my entire pattern all over the paper and by the time I went to pour the powder over my design,  it would not stick.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 11.24.49 AM

#4: Now that the ink is covered with embossing powder, take the heat tool and start heat embossing it.  The heat tool melts the powder into a shiny smooth surface.  Make sure to let the heat tool run for a few seconds before applying heat onto the paper.  You may run the risk of burning the paper before the powder melts if you do not.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 1.31.59 AM

#5: And now repeat steps #3-#5 listed above.  Trace, cut out, and tape.

#5b: If you were like me and the paper did not wrap around the can completely, there is a very easy fix to it.  Instead of redoing the entire project,  just take some of the left over paper from the piece you had trimmed off and use it as a patch to cover up the gap.  I suggest palcing the patch underneath and use double sided tape to secure it down.

#6: Add some twine/ribbon.  I decided to wrap some twine around the can for an extra decorative touch.

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 1.32.23 AM

Let me know if you try out this DIY. I would love to see your creations!

DSC00784

cropped-sig2.jpg

Posted in: DIY

Leave a Reply

